Reardens GAA Awards Results

What a fantastic turn out we had last night for the First Ever Reardens GAA All Star awards.  We would like to thank John McCale from McMedia and all the sponsors from the night, O2, O’Neills, Supervalue and , Club Energise.

Cork seniors Patrick Cronin, Shane O’Neill, Conor O’Sullivan, Cian McCarthy and Lorcán McLoughlin are among the players who caught the eye in this year’s club championship and made the first ever Reardens Club Hurling All-Star team.

However in keeping with the philosophy of the awards, the All-Star selection is dominated by club players, with Sars’ Alan Kennedy and Michael Cussen, Bishopstown’s Diarmuid Lester and Ian Jones, Na Piarsaigh’s Pádraig Gould, CIT’s Stephen White and Courcey Rovers’ Daire Lordan also making the cut.
Wexford imports Eanna Martin — a goalkeeper with his county — and Eoin Quigley were also included for their excellence in helping Sars to a third SFC in five years, while Ballymartle’s Darren McCarthy has picked at corner-forward, though he’s on the Cork panel as a back-up goalie.

Reardens GAA Hurling All Star team of 2012:
Alan Kennedy (Sars); Diarmuid Lester (Bishopstown), Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown), Conor O’Sullivan (Sars); Stephen White (CIT), Ian Jones (Bishopstown), Eanna Martin (Sars); Eoin Quigley (Sars), Lorcán McLoughlin (CIT); Cian McCarthy (Sars), Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown), Padraig Gould (Na Piarsaigh); Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle), Michael Cussen (Sars), Daire Lordan (Courcey Rovers).

Eight different clubs are represented in the inaugural Reardens Club Football All-Stars.
While county champions Castlehaven received six awards, for David Limrick, Liam Collins, Damien Cahalane, Dermot Hurley and promising young forwards Brian Hurley and Mark Collins, the All-Stars are a fair reflection of a competitive and interesting 2012 senior football championship.
Runners-up Duhallow were acknowledged through the selection of Cork duo Aidan Walsh and Donncha O’Connor, as well as AJ O’Connor, with six clubs receiving one award each. St Nick’s Kieran McEnery, Nemo’s Alan Cronin, the Barrs’ Michael Shields, John Hayes (Carbery Rangers), Kevin Davis (Skibb) and Bishopstown’s Denis Crowley also made the All-Star 15.

Reardens GAA All Star football team of 2012:
Kieran McEnery (St Nicks); David Limrick (Castlehaven), Liam Collins (Castlehaven), Alan Cronin (Nemo Rangers); Michael Shields (St Finbarr’s), Damien Cahalane (Castlehaven), AJ O’Connor (Duhallow); Dermot Hurley (Castlehaven), Aidan Walsh (Duhallow); Donncha O’Connor (Duhallow), Mark Collins (Castlehaven), John Hayes (Carbery Rangers); Kevin Davis (O’Donovan Rossa), Denis Crowley (Bishopstown), Brian Hurley (Castlehaven). 
Damien Cahalane further cemented his reputation as one of the most gifted U21 footballers on Leeside by capturing the Reardens Club Footballer of the Year award.

The Castlehaven centre-back, also a teak-tough hurler for St Finbarr’s, was a consistent performer all season for the west Cork club. Indeed his excellence should see him link up with Conor Counihan’s Cork panel in 2013, though such a move would likely see him opt out of Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s hurling squad.
Rebel centre-forward Patrick Cronin, so unlucky to miss out on an inter-county All-Star, is the Reardens Club Hurler of the Year, despite Bishopstown losing the county final. Even in defeat Cronin picked off four points from play, and was sensational at times for the Town.
Milford’s magnificent senior camogie success — after a series of frustrating losses — lead to Emer Watson winning the Reardens Club Camogie Player of the Year.
The Reardens Ladies Footballer of the Year was Inch Rovers’ Anne-Marie Walsh, another model of consistency and the player of the match in the county final against arch rivals Donoughmore.


, , ,

One Response to Reardens GAA Awards Results

  1. Linda November 20, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    What were the camogie and ladies football all star teams?

Leave a Reply

Designed By